THE CROWDED CITY AND THE NEED SOMETIMES TO GET AWAY FROM IT ALL

VOICES!

VOICES!

The city is where most of us make our living. The little luxuries of modern life are all tied up in the ‘Big Smoke’. Luxuries such as the internet and television.

It is good sometimes to get away from the crowds and go some where you can be more yourself. I virtually grew up with a fishing rod in my hand. Fishing has always been my sport. When the big city gets to be too much it is great to go away somewhere and do some fishing.  I am a salt water fisherman. I have had nothing to do with fresh water fishing though I might have a go at it some time.

While fishing it is possible to contemplate the universe and your place in it. With beautiful surroundings you can relax and, if the fish are biting, there is excitement.

Of late I have been collecting WW One and WW Two fighter planes. They worm their way sometimes into my fiction.

Occasionally the great Clarence River and the people living there make their way into my books and so do the people of the Wollongong area.

I remember my last visit to the USA and that also helps my writing.

 Right now there are some nice Agatha Christie novels in reprint coming out. I’ve picked up the first in this series more out of curiosity than anything else. It has been a while since I read any Agatha Christie.

I have also laid my hands on the latest Terry Pratchett novel. If anyone knows the strangeness of modern life and can write about it it would be Pratchett. An earlier Practitioner of this would be Lewis Carroll. I have a shot at it in my latest novel, Desk Job. http://bloodredshadow.com/about/night-to-dawn-magazine-and-books/rod-marsden-supernatural-thriller-vampire-lore/desk-job/

Leave a Reply

